Crooked Kingdom (Six of Crows, #2) by Leigh Bardugo – 5 Star Review

crooked kingdom

Read: April 13, 2017

“Fear is a phoenix. You can watch it burn a thousand times and still it will return.”
― Leigh Bardugo, Crooked Kingdom

This book took me over a month to finish. Do not judge this book on my laziness. It is absolutely amazing! Between the constant errands I’ve had to run, having a toddler, cleaning (let’s me honest, I don’t do much cleaning either), my new Goodreads group, and trying to fight writers block in the outlining part of writing my novel… it’s been like pulling teeth to get me to read.

Why?! You would think this would be the one thing I can’t stop doing. But nope. Every time I would sit down, this is what would happen: “OMG this is good!”… 10 minutes later… read the same line 20 times. Put kindle down. Walk away. And this is for an amazing book. I could only imagine how long it would have taken me to read a sub-par book.

ANYWAY! You haven’t came here to hear me complain about how lazy I am, so on with the show!

First of all I would like to say how sad I am that this is only a duology. I was reading it then someone brought it up and I was like…

Most YA series are at least 3 books, but of COURSE this isn’t a rule. Duh. Also, Leigh Bardugo’s Grisha series is a trilogy. I was so silly to assume this would be too. You know, since it’s 10 TIMES BETTER than The Grisha series. But I must appreciate what it is. The story was told in two books. There was no reason to continue. Right? So here’s my suggestions, and a few of my buddies agree, do a spin off of Inej!

Okay soooo the characters! Everyone reading this has read the first book, and if not what the hell are you doing here?! But I’m going to TRY to make this quick.

We’ll start with Kaz, since he’s the main character. I love Kaz, but he’s not a good guy. He’s not. Period. He’s mean, cruel, and wishes he were still a good guy. He’s corrupt and damaged goods. I don’t think he can ever be changed. If he were real, would I date him? Hell no. Would I be friends with him? Honestly? Probably not. But… but… I love him.

Then there’s Inej! YES!!! I could gush over how much I love Inej for days! But alas, this review is already too long. Let me just say that she is the sweetest badass I’ve ever read about. Seriously, she’s too good for Kaz. Thank God they weren’t together in the end!

Jesper & Wylan… yes both together because it’s important. Just listen. So Jesper is my second, no third, no second (GOD WHERE DOES KAZ FALL IN THIS LINE?!)… anyway he’s up there on my top 3 favorite characters. His gambling kind of annoys me, but what can ya do? He completes Wylan, making Wylan into a not so boring character. I love how they’re so RIGHT for each other… and yet so wrong… but mostly right. “I told you, like your stupid face.”

Okay, Nina’s turn. Am I the only person who can’t connect with Nina. Don’t get me wrong, I like her! I DO! But I just can’t seem to connect to her at all. I do love how she saved them all by sacrificing herself by using jurda parem, but I just… I can’t reach her. It has to just be me, because from discussions I’ve had with others, everyone else gushes over her.

Then there’s Matthias. I hated him, I liked him, I almost loved him. He died. I didn’t cry. What can ya do?

STORYLINE! Finally Carrie, shesh. Just shut up and talk. Yup. I said that.

I’ll be honest, this book is amazing, but it moved a bit slow at times. That might have been partially my fault, but it really did seem to have a lot of details that just added to the word count in my opinion. But the story itself is just… *deep breath*… it’s just so beautiful. Like the first book, the love for this book is mainly for the characters. The plot is great, yes. Save inej, get the money, stop Jurda Parem, save the day. What did I get from this story though? Best friends, that’s what I got. Best fucking friends.

The outline of the story was well organized, beautiful written, and complete. I didn’t have any big questions at the end. I did, however, want more. As I said, GIVE US MORE INEJ PLEASE!!! And throw in some more Sturmhond too. For those of you who haven’t read the Grisha series, do it! If nothing else, do it for Sturmhond. It kinda sucks that you read Six of Crows first and it spoiled the surprise of finding out that he’s actually royalty, but whatever. Read it! 😀 Seriously. I just couldn’t imagine how AMAZING the next series would be if she focuses on Kaz, Inej, Sturmhond, Genya & Zoya.

If you like my reviews or just want to say hi, please follow me on Goodreads!

Leave a Reply

