Throne of Glass (Throne of Glass #1) by Sarah J. Maas – 5 Star Review

16034235

Read: May 11, 2017

“You could be different… you could be great. Greater than me–than any of us… You could rattle the stars.”

I think it’s that time again. I started off kind of bad this year. Now… it’s time to fan girl again. You ready for it?!

I’ll start easy-peasy lemon-squeezy. World building. Rocked it. Mmkay? Nailed it on the head. Thank you chica. Usually when an author creates a whole new world, it takes me a long time to really crasp it. “Wait, where am I? I thought she was from… Isn’t that part of…? Now where the hell is THAT! This map they gave me is NOT helpful. It’s not even on the map! What the hell! OMG I thought that x was a part of x but now it’s not? Oh, I was wrong. Where’s the castle again? Am I in the castle? Who am I?!” Not only did she ease us into her world, but she did it convincingly. Can’t pronounce it? That’s okay! She has a pronunciation key is in the back.

The plot is good. Not OMG IT’S AWESOME good, but good none-the-less. Basically an assassin is pulled out of a death camp to become the king’s champion in a competition.

“M’ere you! We gonna make you free, ya here?”

I don’t know why I gave Chaol a hillbilly accent. Maybe it’s because I’m a hillbilly?

ANYWAY! They fight, people get killed, a mystery is solved, magic is involved… It is wonderful, but predictable. I figured who the big bad wolf was right away. I’ve heard that there are some twists later in the series that will floor me though, so I’m not disappointed. Eh who am I kidding? I wouldn’t have really been disappointed anyway. I love twists that make me go, “OMG! WHAT?!” but if the twist isn’t like that, as long as the story is good I don’t mind. I’m not that girl. It was still pretty fantastic and I can’t wait for the next book. It should be in the mail today.

So let’s talk peoples! It didn’t take me long to like the characters.

Celeana is pretty kick-ass, although her “I’ll kick your ass” attitude got annoying at times. By “at times” I mean maybe for 15 minutes (total) of reading out of the entire book. I can deal with that.

I absolutely adore Dorian. Can I marry him? Shit, I’m already married. And he’s a prince. AND he’s fictional. Well, I can dream can’t I?!

Choal is loveable in a brooding I’m-not-good-enough sort of way. Not saying that he’s not good enough. He is! But he thinks he’s not. Usually this is annoying, but for him it’s subtle and endearing. PS: It’s pronounced Kay-all, not Coal. I called him Coal the entire time, even though I knew better. Again, pronunciation key. My bad.

Nehemia took me a little longer to love, but it happened. And when it did, it was wonderful.

Great job on making me despise Chaol, Kaltain, Perrington & the king! Can we kill them all now? No? That would make for a boring story, I guess.

If you like my reviews or just want to say hi, please follow me on Goodreads!

Leave a Reply

