Scythe (Sctyhe #1) by Neal Shusterman – 4 Star Review

scythe

Read: May 26, 2017

 The Scythe Commandments:
1. Thou shalt kill.
2. Thou shalt kill with no bias, bigotry, or malice aforethought.
3. Thou shalt grant an annum of immunity to the beloved of those who accept your coming, and to anyone else you deem worthy.
4. Thou shalt kill the beloved of those who resist.
5. Thou shalt serve humanity for the full span of thy days, and thy family shall have immunity as recompense for as long as you live.
6. Thou shalt lead an exemplary life in word and deed, and keep a journal of each and every day.
7. Thou shalt kill no scythe beyond thyself.
8. Thou shalt claim no earthly possessions, save thy robes, ring, and journal.
9. Thou shalt have neither spouse nor spawn.
10. Thou shalt be beholden to no laws beyond these.

When I saw that Neal Shusterman had a new book out, I was ecstatic! I am absolutely obsessed with Unwind. You know how some people just can’t shut up about Harry Potter (yeah, I’m one of those people too)… yeah I fangirl that much about Unwind. It’s amazing, and if you haven’t read it, I can’t stress enough… DO IT! That is, if you love that feeling you get up your spine when something is just too creepy for it’s own good. I mean, it’s not like the whole book is just nothing but creepy events. It’s the world. The concept: there was a war. It ended with an agreement to unwind kids. What is unwinding? Oh nothing. They just take you apart piece by piece. They use every single part of you. And oh, did I mention you’re awake during the whole thing?

So yeah… if a man can right that kind of awesome pie, this new book must be amazing. (P.S. Still haven’t read his Skinjackers series. What’s wrong with me?)

So I’m like… great! It’s about grim reapers or something. I open it up and read: “Thou Shalt Kill.” *squeal* I love when Neal kills! Then I read the blurb. OMG! Yes! Another amazing world!

And I was right. I absolutely love the world! The basic idea is that humans have found a way to be immortal. If you die, no problem! We can just reboot you and get you back to normal in no time. Getting old? No problem! We can just reset you to a younger you! The only problem is that people are still breeding. So if people are born, people must die. So they appoint Scythes, who are basically assassins. Yes, yes, yes!!!!

So why didn’t I rate it a 5 star? I’m gushing enough, right? It’s a 4.5 star, technically, but I decided to round it down since I had a couple “gripes” if you can call them that. Small spoilers ahead, but nothing major…

I had a problem connecting to Citra & Rowan. I felt like they were supposed to be love interests, but I never felt that spark. As a matter of fact, I really didn’t care about either of them until around the 4th quarter of the book. By the end, I liked Citra okay. But I LOVED Rowan. I need more Rowan!!!

Then there’s the modern-day things in the future world. Example: Ramen noodles. Do they REALLY have Top Ramen hundreds of years from now? They cured death and poverty… did they really keep Ramen? It’s not just that though. Sometimes I forgot that it was set hundreds of years in the future. The only time (well, mostly the only time) I was really reminded of that was when they talked about the Thunderhead, which is a big computer-like AI thing that controls everything. I mean… everything. Well, other than the Scythedom.

So basically, I took off a star for lack of connection to the two main characters and their connection to each other… and the lack of futuristic feel in most of the book.

So how was the ending???

Leave a Reply

