Heartless by Marissa Meyer – 5 Star Review

18584855

“When pleased, I beat like a drum. When sad, I break like glass. Once stolen, I can never be taken back. What am I?”
― Marissa Meyer, Heartless

Warning:This review contains mild spoilers.

 

OMG! OMG! OMG! OMG!

This book is absolutely amazing! No, better than amazing! What is better than amazing? What is the word? I can’t find the word! I’m a freaking out right now, okay?

Okay, so.. Catherine. Let’s start with Catherine. She is… annoying. Okay so you weren’t expecting that were you? Yeah, after that little meltdown, you were expecting me to say that she was… amazing… But no. I want to slap her, hard.

But I have to… but I don’t want to… but my mommy says… but what will everyone say… but I don’t like the King… but Jest is so cute…

This is the impression she makes during the entire book. Or at least, until the end. I won’t go there (yet)…

So you would think that it’s a deal-breaker, right? Nope. Not for me. The main character is not always likable. That is okay. If all main characters were likable, that would be a very boring bookshelf, yeah? The important thing is (2 actually): growth and other characters. This book has both of those (kind of)… how can I do this without spoiling the end?! Simple: I can’t. So I won’t.

So then there’s Jest. Jest… he’s just… Marry me Jest. No, no… I will get that divorce. Just stay with me forever… SWOON! Back off girls, back off Cath, he’s MINE. Sorry… had another moment. Why is a raven like a writing-desk?

Dark, witty, quite possibly the bad guy, but never mean toward Cath at all? Sign me up! And see, there’s the problem with most “bad boys” in fiction, whether that be books, tv or movies. The bad guys are… bad. But with Jest, you really don’t know if he’s the bad guy from the beginning until things are revealed. Did I just tell you that he was the bad guy? Did I spoil it for you? I don’t know… you tell me! He might be, he might not be. And that is part of the beauty of this book.

You knew this was coming… the mad hatter. Marissa Meyer paints one of the best pictures of the mad hatter that I have ever seen, aside from Johnny Depp of course. He doesn’t come off quite as mad as some of the other hatters I have seen, but there’s definitely… yep… there went the screw…

CHESHIRE!!! Yes, you see Cheshire Cat in this one. ♥ He is Cath’s “pet”, if anyone could actually own him. But they are very good friends. He is just as sly and lovably devious as ever.

The story is just amazing. I think it’s a good thing that I didn’t know that this is the story of how the Queen of Hearts became… well… heartless. But to be honest, I pretty much knew before I even started the book. I mean, look at the title. How could I not deduce that? But then came the her fondness of baking… the tarts… OMG the amount of sweets in this book! There goes the diet… seriously this is a delicious book…

There is an element that I wasn’t expecting in the book: Peter Peter, Pumpkin Eater. Most of us know the rhyme:
Peter Peter, Pumpkin Eater
Had a Wife and Couldn’t Keep Her
He Put Her in a Pumpkin Shell
And There He Kept Her Very Well…

This is not part of the traditional Alice in Wonderland stories. It seems to me that Marissa Meyer took many of the famous stories (the cartoon, the movies, the actual original story) and mashed it all together. I love how she added Peter Peter. It gave it a twist. Considering he is a very important character, it wasn’t for not.

So how did I like the book? 6 out of 5 stars of course!

If you like my quirky, nonsense reviews,
or if you just wanna say howdy,
follow me on Goodreads!

Leave a Reply

