The Night Circus by Erin Morgenstern – 2 Star Review

12606483

Read: July 1, 2017

““Most maidens are perfectly capable of rescuing themselves in my experience, at least the ones worth something, in any case.”
― Erin Morgenstern, The Night Circus”

I had high hopes for this book. I mean, really high hopes. over 470,000 ratings with over a 4 star average on Goodreads? Shining review from many of my friends rated it 4-5 stars. I heard it was like Caraval, but BETTER because it was the original “night circus”. I rated Caraval a 5 star (generous, because it had faults but I loved it so whatever, haters). And the romance was supposed to be phenomenal.

I tried to read it once before, and found it dull and boring. But I didn’t get far, so I figured I would try it again since it won book of the month in my group. I was so excited! I was going to go on an adventure!

So I gave it a go. And I waited… and waited… and it’s halfway through. “Is it going to get any less boring?” And I waited. And… “I’m so glad I decided to do audiobook…” and I waited. And I waited. And I turned up the speed on my audiobook. “It’s three quarters of the way through. Surely the end is worth it, right? Some people said yes. The end is amazing. Okay…” And I waited… and you get the point. And then… Nope. Nothing. The entire book was boring from beginning to end. Nothing really happened. Thankfully there was Widget & Poppet. At least they were somewhat interesting. Kind of. Such a waste of my time.

So why didn’t I rate it a 1 star if I hated it so much? The writing style was beautiful. It was very poetic and just lovely. I know that the author knows how to write. I would be willing to try another one of her books when she publishes again. It just dragged on and on and nothing happened. But I couldn’t ignore the beauty of the words in this book. On that aspect, it was one of the most beautiful books I’ve ever read. So I had to at least give it an extra star for that. It was tempting to give it TWO extra stars for being so beautifully written. But it doesn’t matter how beautiful your words are, if your story is BORING.

If you like my quirky, nonsense reviews,
or if you just wanna say howdy,
follow me on Goodreads!

img_9426

Enter my giveaway for a chance to win a copy of Dead Woman Walking by Sharon Baron!

Leave a Reply

